The Agtech Zone launches the AgXis Program to increase Quebec's availability of technologies applied to workforce issues in the horticultural sector

For immediate release

MRC de L'Assomption, July 9, 2024 - The Agtech Zone is proud to announce the launch of the AgXis Program, an innovative program designed to increase the availability, in Quebec, of innovative agricultural technologies that solve labor and operational efficiency challenges in Quebec's horticultural sector.

In recent years, the province's horticultural producers have had to deal with the critical issues of labor shortages and operational efficiency. Coupled with climate change, these issues are putting many of our farms at risk, impacting food self-sufficiency and, eventually, the sustainability of our horticultural sectors. It is in this context that the Agtech Zone, in collaboration with the Horticultural Innovation Expertise Network (made up of 5 horticultural associations and the Agtech Zone) and 5 key players in Quebec - Epsilia, Taste of the North, Univerco, Dubois Agrinovation and ProduceTech - has designed a technological adaptation and maturation program aimed at increasing the availability of priority innovative agricultural technologies for Quebec fruit and vegetable growers.

"We have an exceptional agtech ecosystem in Quebec, and we're proud to propel it forward every year. Faced with the challenges posed by last summer's bad weather and the persistent shortage of manpower, we decided this year to focus our efforts on increasing the availability of Quebec technologies adapted to the needs of our producers. By participating in the program, companies will benefit from intensive technological adaptation and maturation support, while working hand-in-hand with growers to refine their solutions. This collaboration is the key to accelerating technology adoption. We're delighted to launch this program in partnership with the community, and look forward to strong participation from agtech companies," says Marilou Cyr, General Manager of Zone Agtech. 

With the launch of this program, the Agtech Zone has set itself the ambitious challenge of increasing the local availability of 25 technologies that meet the priority needs of 5 Quebec horticultural sectors: strawberries and raspberries, apples, potatoes, greenhouses and vegetables. At the end of the program, each sector will benefit from 5 innovative technologies adapted to the priority needs identified by growers.

AGXIS STRAWBERRIES AND RASPBERRIES, PRESENTED BY TASTE OF THE NORTH

Presented by Taste of the North, the AgXis Strawberry and Raspberry Program aims to accelerate the adaptation and/or maturation of 5 technologies that reduce manual harvesting, fertilization and yield forecasting tasks. 

___

"The AgXis Strawberry and Raspberry Program is an exceptional opportunity to integrate innovations that will strengthen the competitiveness of our strawberry and raspberry growers in Quebec. Although Quebec is already a world leader in strawberry production, challenges such as labor shortages and operational efficiency are becoming increasingly present. Taste of the North is proud to support this initiative and to be a key partner in the industry." - Éric Fréchette, CEO of Taste of the North

___

AGXIS APPLES, PRESENTED BY PRODUCETECH

Presented by ProduceTech, the AgXis Pommes Program aims to identify, accelerate and/or adapt 5 technologies that meet the priority challenges of Quebec apple growers. Companies proposing or wishing to adapt their solutions for thinning, harvesting, sorting, weeding and pruning in the apple sector are invited to submit their applications in Quebec.

___

"Since 2013, ProduceTech has established itself as a major player in the North American market. Always looking for the best technologies to support our customers, it was natural for us to introduce the AgXis Apple Program. Quebec's apple-growing sector is characterized by smaller orchards and faces specific climate-related challenges, resulting in a lack of adapted technologies. This collaboration will stimulate the availability of the technologies we're looking for, and therefore their adoption, which will improve the profitability and sustainability of our apple growers in Quebec." - Frédéric Lavoie, Producetech CEO

___

AGXIS POTATOES, PRESENTED BY EPSILIA

Presented by Epsilia, part of Groupe Noovelia, the AgXis Potato Program aims to accelerate the availability of priority technologies sought by Quebec potato growers: disease detection, pest management, weed control, washing optimization and operations traceability. 

___

"At Epsilia, innovation is our driving force, and our expertise in the agri-food sector, including potatoes, has made our reputation in Quebec's agricultural sector for over 20 years. We are delighted to support the AgXis Potato Program, which will propel our customers to new heights of competitiveness. This initiative is an exceptional opportunity for us to integrate new ideas and solutions into our offering. We remain committed to innovating to meet the challenges of the industry." - Pierre Ricard, Business Development and Customer Experience Director, Epsilia, Noovelia Group

___

AGXIS MARAÎCHER, PRESENTED BY UNIVERCO

Presented by Univerco, the AgXis Vegetable Production Program aims to accelerate the development and adaptation of solutions that will reduce labor requirements and increase operational efficiency, more specifically for harvesting, weeding, yield forecasting and sorting, packing and packaging tasks.

___

"Univerco has been providing vegetable growers with mechanization solutions since 1978, from seeding, to weeding, harvesting and washing vegetables. With labor issues on the rise and the potential of new technologies, we're proud to partner with the AgXis Vegetable Production Program. This is an essential initiative to support our growers by providing them with adapted technologies that will improve their productivity and sustainability." - Alain Bisaillon, President of Univerco

___

AGXIS SERRES, PRESENTED BY DUBOIS AGRINOVATION

Presented by Dubois Agrinovation, the AgXis Serres program is designed to address the specific challenges facing Quebec greenhouses. In addition to accelerating the adaptation and maturation of 5 innovative technologies and solutions to meet the majority of needs, the program will increase the availability of technologies in Quebec for small, medium and large greenhouses. The priority issues that the program seeks to address are robotization or automation of picking, yield forecasting, disease detection and integration of different IT platforms and climate control systems.

___

"Greenhouses represent a key segment of horticulture in Quebec and for Dubois Agrinovation, which has been supporting the sector for 65 years. We're always looking to maximize our offering of solutions, products and technologies for all types of growers, large and small. That's why we're delighted to support the AgXis Greenhouse Program, which will increase the availability of Quebec solutions in our offering, to boost the performance and vitality of our home-grown growers." - Martin Charbonneau, Sales and Marketing Director, Dubois Agrinovation

___

To apply

Companies presenting technologies and solutions they believe can be adapted to growers' needs are invited to submit their applications from now until September 2 on the AgXis Program page of the Zone Agtech website.

More on the Program 

The AgXis Program is a technology adaptation and maturation program dedicated to transforming the future of agriculture in Quebec. This innovative program aims to identify, attract and adapt the most promising agricultural technologies to meet the labor and operational efficiency challenges facing Quebec producers.

As part of this innovative program, the Agtech Zone, in collaboration with partner associations and players, will identify 25 companies committed to developing Quebec's horticultural industry by accelerating the maturation and/or adaptation of their technology to the needs of local producers. 

Throughout their journey, the selected companies will benefit from co-development sessions with horticultural producers, scientific and technological advice from our partner research and technology transfer centers, strategic coaching for adapting their business model, if required, and sites for experimenting and demonstrating their technology. At the end of the tour, companies will be invited to a trade showcase co-organized with partner horticultural associations, and 4 companies will have the opportunity to take part in performance evaluations that will also lead to the design of information tools dedicated to growers. 

More about Zone Agtech 

The first of its kind in Canada, the Zone Agtech is an innovation ecosystem located on the territory of the Ville de Repentigny and the Ville de L'Assomption, dedicated to fostering innovations and companies developing innovative technologies and solutions that will form the basis of tomorrow's agriculture: an agriculture that will produce more nutritious food while using less land, water, chemicals and energy, and that will use agri-food residues as inputs for the production of value-added bioproducts.

Together, the members and partners of the Agtech Zone support, accelerate and participate in the creation of a more efficient agriculture that is resilient to change. Together, we have put in place innovation programming, events and activities to intensify the development and transfer of agricultural and agri-food innovations to markets here and abroad. 

The resulting ecosystem benefits all Quebec players - innovators, major companies, scientists, farmers, distributors, citizens and future generations - who will find the Zone Agtech an inclusive place that focuses Quebec's economic development on a clean industry that is relevant to the future.

Media Contact

Agtech zone

Telephone: 450-938-5777, ext. 101

E-mail: mpricher@zoneagtech.ca


To make sure you don't miss out on any more, join Quebec's Agtech Community, powered by Zone Agtech!

La Zone Agtech lance le Programme AgXis pour accroître la disponibilité québécoise de technologies appliquées aux enjeux de main-d’œuvre du secteur horticole

Pour diffusion immédiate

MRC de L’Assomption, le 9 juillet 2024 – La Zone Agtech est fière d’annoncer le lancement du Programme AgXis, un programme novateur qui vise à accroître la disponibilité, au Québec, des technologies agricoles innovantes qui permettent de résoudre les enjeux de main-d’œuvre et d’efficacité opérationnelle du secteur horticole du Québec.

Les producteurs horticoles de la province vivent, depuis les dernières années, des enjeux névralgiques de pénurie de main-d’œuvre et d’efficacité opérationnelle. Couplés aux changements climatiques, ces enjeux génèrent des risques de pérennité pour de nombreuses fermes d’ici, impactant l’autonomie alimentaire et, éventuellement, la pérennité de nos filières horticoles. C’est dans ce contexte que la Zone Agtech, en collaboration avec le Réseau d’expertise en innovation horticole (constitué de 5 associations horticoles et de la Zone Agtech) et 5 acteurs clés du Québec – Epsilia, Taste of the North, Univerco, Dubois Agrinovation et ProduceTech – a conçu un programme d’adaptation et maturation technologique visant à accroître la disponibilité des technologies agricoles innovantes prioritaires pour les producteurs de fruits et légumes d’ici.

« Nous avons un écosystème agtech exceptionnel au Québec et nous sommes fiers de le propulser chaque année. Face aux défis posés par les intempéries de l’été dernier et la pénurie de main-d’œuvre persistante, nous avons décidé cette année de concentrer nos efforts sur l’augmentation de la disponibilité des technologies québécoises adaptées aux besoins des producteurs d’ici. En participant au programme, les entreprises bénéficieront d’un accompagnement intensif en adaptation et maturation technologique, tout en travaillant main dans la main avec les producteurs pour affiner leurs solutions. Cette collaboration est la clé pour accélérer l’adoption des technologies. Nous sommes ravis de lancer ce programme en partenariat avec le milieu et espérons une forte participation des entreprises agtech. », indique Marilou Cyr, directrice générale de la Zone Agtech. 

En lançant ce programme, la Zone Agtech se lance le défi ambitieux d’accroître la disponibilité locale de 25 technologies qui répondent aux enjeux prioritaires de 5 filières horticoles québécoises d’ici : la filière des fraises et framboises, des pommes, des pommes de terre, des serres et maraichère. À l’issue du programme, chaque filière bénéficiera de 5 technologies innovantes adaptées aux besoins prioritaires identifiés par les producteurs.

AGXIS FRAISES ET FRAMBOISES, PRÉSENTÉ PAR TASTE OF THE NORTH

Présenté par Taste of the North, le Programme AgXis Fraises et Framboises a pour objectif d’accélérer l’adaptation et/ou la maturation de 5 technologies qui permettent de réduire les tâches manuelles de récolte, de fertilisation et de prévision des rendements. 

___

« Le Programme AgXis Fraises et Framboises est une opportunité exceptionnelle pour intégrer des innovations qui renforceront la compétitivité de nos producteurs de fraises et framboises au Québec. Bien que le Québec se distingue déjà à l’échelle mondiale en production de fraises, les défis tels que la pénurie de main-d’œuvre et l’efficacité opérationnelle sont de plus en plus présents. Taste of the North est fière de soutenir cette initiative et d’être un partenaire clé de la filière. » – Éric Fréchette, PDG de Taste of the North

___

AGXIS POMMES, PRÉSENTÉ PAR PRODUCETECH

Présenté par ProduceTech, le Programme AgXis Pommes a pour objectif d’identifier, accélérer et/ou adapter 5 technologies qui répondent aux enjeux prioritaires des Producteurs de pommes du Québec. Ainsi, les entreprises qui proposent ou désirent adapter leur solution pour l’éclaircissage, la récolte, le tri, le désherbage et la taille dans le secteur pomicole sont invités à soumettre leur candidature au Québec.

___

« Depuis 2013, ProduceTech s’est imposé comme un acteur majeur sur le marché nord-américain. Toujours en quête des meilleures technologies pour soutenir nos clients, il était naturel pour nous de présenter le Programme AgXis Pommes. Le secteur des producteurs de pommes du Québec est caractérisé par de plus petits vergers et fait face à des enjeux spécifiques liés au climat, ce qui résulte en un manque de technologies adaptées. Cette collaboration stimulera la disponibilité des technologies que nous recherchons et donc leur adoption, ce qui améliorera la rentabilité et la pérennité de nos producteurs de pommes au Québec. » – Frédéric Lavoie, PDG de Producetech

___

AGXIS POMMES DE TERRE, PRÉSENTÉ PAR EPSILIA

Présenté par Epsilia, du Groupe Noovelia, le Programme AgXis Pommes de terre a pour objectif d’accélérer la disponibilité des technologies prioritaires recherchées par les Producteurs de pommes de terre du Québec, soit le dépistage des maladies, la lutte aux ravageurs de culture, le désherbage, l’optimisation du lavage et la traçabilité des opérations. 

___

«Chez Epsilia, l’innovation est notre moteur, et notre expertise dans le secteur agroalimentaire, dont le domaine de la pomme de terre, fait notre renommée dans le secteur agricole du Québec depuis plus de 20 ans. Nous sommes ravis de soutenir le Programme AgXis Pommes de terre qui propulsera nos clients vers de nouveaux sommets de compétitivité. Cette initiative est une opportunité exceptionnelle pour nous d’intégrer de nouvelles idées et solutions à notre offre. Nous sommes toujours engagés à innover pour relever les défis de la filière. » – Pierre Ricard, Directeur Développement des Affaires et Expérience Client, Epsilia du Groupe Noovelia

___

AGXIS MARAÎCHER, PRÉSENTÉ PAR UNIVERCO

Présenté par Univerco, le Programme AgXis Production maraichère a pour objectif d’accélérer le développement et l’adaptation de solutions qui réduiront les besoins de main-d’œuvre et accroîtront l’efficacité opérationnelle plus spécifiquement pour les tâches de récolte, de désherbage, de prévision de rendements et de tri, emballage et conditionnement.

___

« Univerco offre des solutions aux producteurs maraîchers pour la mécanisation depuis 1978, du semis, au sarclage, à la récolte et au lavage des légumes. Avec les enjeux de main-d’œuvre qui s’intensifient et le potentiel des nouvelles technologies, nous sommes fiers de nous associer au Programme AgXis Production Maraîchère. Il s’agit d’une initiative essentielle pour soutenir nos producteurs en leur fournissant des technologies adaptées qui amélioreront leur productivité et leur durabilité. » – Alain Bisaillon, président d’Univerco

___

AGXIS SERRES, PRÉSENTÉ PAR DUBOIS AGRINOVATION

Présenté par Dubois Agrinovation, le Programme AgXis Serres vise à adresser les enjeux spécifiques des serres du Québec. En plus d’accélérer l’adaptation et la maturation de 5 technologies et solutions innovantes et afin de répondre à la majorité des besoins, le programme permettra d’accroître la disponibilité des technologies au Québec tant pour les petites, moyennes et grandes serres. Les enjeux prioritaires que le programme cherche à combler sont la robotisation ou l’automatisation de la cueillette, la prévision des rendements, le dépistage des maladies et l’intégration des différentes plates-formes TI et systèmes de contrôle du climat.

___

« Les serres représentent un segment clé de l’horticulture au Québec et pour Dubois Agrinovation, qui soutient le secteur depuis 65 ans. Nous cherchons toujours à maximiser notre offre de solutions, produits et technologies pour tous les types de producteurs, qu’ils soient petits ou grands. C’est pourquoi nous sommes heureux de soutenir le Programme AgXis Serre qui permettra d’augmenter la disponibilité des solutions québécoises dans notre offre, pour accroître la performance et la vivacité de nos producteurs d’ici. » – Martin Charbonneau, Directeur des ventes et marketing de Dubois Agrinovation

___

Pour appliquer

Les entreprises qui présentent des technologies et solutions qu’elles croient en mesure d’adapter aux besoins des producteurs sont invitées à soumettre leur candidature dès maintenant et jusqu’au 2 septembre sur la page du Programme AgXis du site Internet de la Zone Agtech.

Plus sur le Programme 

Le Programme AgXis est un programme d’adaptation et de maturation technologiques dédié à transformer l’avenir de l’agriculture au Québec. Ce programme novateur vise à identifier, attirer et adapter les technologies agricoles les plus prometteuses pour répondre aux défis de main-d’œuvre et d’efficacité opérationnelle auxquels font face les producteurs québécois.

Dans le cadre de ce programme novateur, la Zone Agtech identifiera, en collaboration avec les associations et acteurs partenaires, 25 entreprises ayant la volonté de développer la filière horticole du Québec en accélérant la maturation et/ou l’adaptation de leur technologie aux besoins des producteurs d’ici. 

Tout au long de leur parcours, les entreprises sélectionnées bénéficieront de séances de codéveloppement avec les producteurs horticoles, de conseils scientifiques et technologiques issus de nos centres de recherche et de transfert technologique partenaire, de coaching stratégique pour l’adaptation de leur modèle d’affaires, s’il y a lieu, et de sites pour réaliser l’expérimentation et la démonstration de leur technologie. Au terme du parcours, les entreprises seront invitées à une vitrine commerciale co-organisée avec les associations horticoles partenaires et 4 entreprises auront l’occasion de participer à des évaluations de performances qui conduiront, également, à la conception d’outils d’information dédiés aux producteurs. 

Plus sur la Zone Agtech 

Première du genre au Canada, la Zone Agtech est un écosystème d’innovation situé sur le territoire de la Ville de Repentigny et de la Ville de L’Assomption dédié à la propulsion des innovations et des entreprises qui développent des technologies et de solutions innovantes qui seront à la base de l’agriculture de demain : une agriculture qui produira des aliments plus nutritifs tout en utilisant moins de terres, d’eau, produits chimiques et énergétiques, et qui utilisera les résidus agroalimentaires comme intrants pour la production de bioproduits à valeur ajoutée.

Les membres et partenaires de la Zone Agtech supportent, accélèrent et participent tous ensemble à la création de cette agriculture plus performante et résiliente aux changements. Ensemble, nous avons mis en place une programmation d’innovation, des évènements et des activités afin d’intensifier le développement et le transfert des innovations agricoles et agroalimentaires vers les marchés d’ici ou d’ailleurs. 

L’écosystème mis en place bénéficie à l’ensemble des acteurs du Québec – innovateurs, grandes entreprises, scientifiques, agriculteurs, distributeurs, citoyens et générations futures – qui trouveront en la Zone Agtech un lieu inclusif qui axe le développement économique du Québec vers une industrie propre et pertinente avec l’avenir.

Contact Média

Zone Agtech

Téléphone : 450-938-5777, poste 101

Courriel : mpricher@zoneagtech.ca


Pour ne plus rien manquer, rejoignez la Communauté Agtech du Québec, propulsée par la Zone Agtech !